Early day motion 984

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned that withdrawing housing benefit from social housing tenants with unoccupied bedrooms will hit the poor, the vulnerable and the disabled hardest, unfairly penalises parents with sons and daughters in the armed forces living at home but away fighting for their country on the Afghanistan front line, takes no account of those who need specialist home care and threatens to disrupt the lives of children in the joint custody of divorced or separated parents; recognises that local authorities do not have enough one-bedroom housing stock available to enable those who can downsize to do so; and supports the Sunday People campaign calling on the Government to increase central funding for the discretionary housing allowance so that those unable to pay the bedroom tax do not become homeless.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 91

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 91 out of 91

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 07.02.2013
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 05.02.2013
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 11.02.2013
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 05.02.2013
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 12.02.2013
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 14.02.2013
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 05.02.2013
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 07.02.2013
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 14.02.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 30.01.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 31.01.2013
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 11.02.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 05.02.2013
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 11.02.2013
Coffey, Ann Labour Party Stockport 29.01.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 11.02.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 25.02.2013
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 06.03.2013
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 01.02.2013
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 06.02.2013
Danczuk, Simon Labour Party Rochdale 11.02.2013
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 01.03.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 30.01.2013
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 05.02.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 28.02.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 30.01.2013
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 26.02.2013
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 25.03.2013
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 12.02.2013
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 07.02.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 07.02.2013
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 05.02.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 06.02.2013
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 06.02.2013
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 13.02.2013
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 13.02.2013
Hain, Peter Labour Party Neath 13.02.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 05.02.2013
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 06.02.2013
Healey, John Labour Party Wentworth and Dearne 27.02.2013
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 25.02.2013
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 05.03.2013
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 25.02.2013
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 25.02.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 04.02.2013
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 06.02.2013
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 04.02.2013
James, Sian C Labour Party Swansea East 25.02.2013
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 12.02.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 07.02.2013
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 07.02.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 05.02.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 06.02.2013
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 30.01.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 06.02.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 05.02.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 10.02.2013
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 12.03.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 30.01.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 13.02.2013
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 25.02.2013
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 07.02.2013
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 12.02.2013
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 06.02.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 12.02.2013
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 07.02.2013
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 10.04.2013
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 14.02.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 07.02.2013
Powell, Lucy Labour Party Manchester Central 25.03.2013
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 27.02.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 14.02.2013
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 30.01.2013
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 06.02.2013
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 12.03.2013
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 10.02.2013
Roy, Frank Labour Party Motherwell and Wishaw 12.03.2013
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 12.02.2013
Sawford, Andy Labour Party Corby 07.02.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 30.01.2013
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 29.01.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 30.01.2013
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 25.02.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 05.02.2013
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 11.02.2013
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 05.02.2013
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 31.01.2013
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 30.01.2013
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 13.02.2013
Woodward, Shaun Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 25.02.2013
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 05.02.2013