Early day motion 980

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that almost 12,000 people in the UK are diagnosed with throat cancer each year, that the number of cases is rising rapidly, the incidence rate of oropharyngeal cancer doubled between 2002 to 2006 alone, and that men are much more likely to be affected; welcomes the launch of a new charity, the Throat Cancer Foundation, which aims to tackle this problem; considers that more must be done to improve the public's awareness of how to prevent throat cancer through healthier lifestyles and also knowledge of the symptoms to enable early diagnosis and treatment; further notes the strong link between human papilloma virus (HPV) infection and throat cancer; further considers that many cases of throat cancer and others, including penile, anal, vulval and cervical cancers could be prevented through a more comprehensive and gender-neutral HPV immunisation programme; and further notes that the Australian government is extending its HPV immunisation programme to boys and urges the Government to consider such a step seriously and urgently.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 59

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 59 out of 59

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 31.01.2013
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 19.03.2013
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 29.01.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 28.01.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 30.01.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 31.01.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 28.01.2013
Coffey, Ann Labour Party Stockport 26.02.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 25.02.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 14.03.2013
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 28.01.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 29.01.2013
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 29.01.2013
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 28.01.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 28.01.2013
Dorrell, Stephen Conservative Party Charnwood 25.02.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 28.01.2013
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 26.02.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 06.02.2013
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 28.01.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 28.01.2013
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 25.02.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 28.01.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 04.03.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 29.01.2013
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 29.01.2013
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 28.01.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 28.01.2013
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 28.01.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 28.01.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 01.02.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 29.01.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 06.02.2013
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 29.01.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 06.02.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 29.01.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 11.03.2013
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 27.02.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 12.02.2013
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 07.02.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 07.02.2013
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 28.01.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 12.03.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 28.01.2013
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 28.02.2013
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 28.01.2013
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 05.02.2013
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 12.02.2013
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 05.02.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 28.01.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 31.01.2013
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 30.01.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 28.01.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 29.01.2013
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 05.02.2013
Weatherley, Mike Conservative Party Hove 31.01.2013
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 30.01.2013
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 25.02.2013
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 31.01.2013