Early day motion 95

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes Medical Justice's new report, The Second Torture: The Immigration Detention of Torture Survivors, which demonstrates how the UK Border Agency is failing to fulfil its statutory duty to safeguard torture survivors, as outlined in Rule 35 (3) of the Detention Centre Rules 2001; notes with concern that the poor implementation of Rule 35 has been raised by HM Inspectorate of Prisons, the Joint Committee on Human Rights and non-governmental organisations for nine years, highlighting the continued failure to identify and release torture victims from immigration detention; urges the Government to take the necessary steps to safeguard this group; calls for an independent audit of the Rule 35 process to assess its effectiveness; and calls on the Government to launch an independent inquiry if the results of such an audit do not adequately demonstrate that Rule 35 is functioning effectively.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 43

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 43 out of 43

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 18.06.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 20.06.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 23.05.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 22.05.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 21.05.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 13.06.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 24.05.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 23.05.2012
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 04.07.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 21.05.2012
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 11.06.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 23.05.2012
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 25.06.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 18.06.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 24.05.2012
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 28.06.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 22.05.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 26.06.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 23.05.2012
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 11.06.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 22.05.2012
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 21.05.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 22.05.2012
Jackson, Stewart Conservative Party Peterborough 15.10.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 24.05.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 11.06.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 11.06.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 14.06.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 21.05.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 23.05.2012
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 03.09.2012
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 03.09.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 24.05.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 22.05.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 12.06.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 25.06.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 23.05.2012
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 22.05.2012
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 27.06.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 11.06.2012
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 11.06.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 17.09.2012
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 21.05.2012