Early day motion 935

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the success of the Fairtrade Yorkshire campaign in getting Yorkshire and the Humber declared, by the Fairtrade Foundation, as the UK's first-ever Fairtrade Region; further welcomes the Fairtrade Foundation's decision to recognise the Fairtrade credentials of Yorkshire and the Humber by naming it a Fairtrade Region; notes the combined efforts of all the groups and individuals involved in the campaign, bringing together the 39 cities, towns and villages in Yorkshire with Fairtrade campaigns, as well as the schools, universities and faith groups, who have been working to raise the profile of Fairtrade in Yorkshire through dedicated work promoting awareness, raising the profile of fair trading practices and the benefits of buying fairly traded products for customers and producers; and further notes the enthusiasm and support which has grown in the region for Fairtrade, which offers fair prices, decent working conditions, local sustainability and fair terms of trade for farmers and workers in the developing world.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 12

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 12 out of 12

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 17.01.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 23.01.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 18.01.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 17.01.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 23.01.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 21.01.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 17.01.2013
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 16.01.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 14.02.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 22.01.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 21.01.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 24.01.2013