Early day motion 924

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the automotive engineering company Manganese Bronze Holdings plc and its operating division, LTI Limited, which trades as The London Taxi Company; further notes that the company's headquarters and main manufacturing operations are located in Coventry; further notes that the company has been the manufacturers of the iconic London Black Taxis and that over 130,000 London Black Taxis have been produced at the company's Coventry site over the past60 years; further notes that Manganese Bronze went into administration in October 2012 and that PricewaterhouseCoopersis the appointed administrator; understands that the administratoris currently shortlisting potential bidders to take over the company and that the final bidder is expected to be announced by the end of January 2013; further understands that the Coventry site is able to continue production immediately and already has significant potential orders for production should work commence; believes that the buyeror buyers of the company should commit to continuing production of the iconic London Black Taxi; further believes that the buyer or buyers of the company should commit to continuing production at the current site in Coventry; recognises that Unite the Union and the Government have been working constructively with the administrator to gain assurances from potential bidders of their intentions; and calls on the Government to take all possible steps to ensure that these commitments are made and adhered to.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 26

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 26 out of 26

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 22.01.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 16.01.2013
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 21.01.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 18.01.2013
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 15.01.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 16.01.2013
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 31.01.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 17.01.2013
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 23.01.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 22.01.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 16.01.2013
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 21.01.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 17.01.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 23.01.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 21.01.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 15.01.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 16.01.2013
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 23.01.2013
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 15.01.2013
Sawford, Andy Labour Party Corby 21.01.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 22.01.2013
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 23.01.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 28.01.2013
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 15.01.2013
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 16.01.2013
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 22.01.2013