Early day motion 92

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises the suffering that forced child adoptions during the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s caused, which took place due to social pressures on women who had children outside of marriage; notes the unacceptable adoption and care practices of the past, such as not giving information about welfare services including housing and financial help which were available at the time and not questioning whether women putting their children up for adoption had given informed consent; further recognises the negligence of previous Governments, with regard to ensuring that the care provided for unmarried mothers was appropriate and that they and their children were not mistreated or discriminated against, resulting in many women suffering traumatising pre and post-natal experiences and children being denied contact with their birth parents; and calls on the Government to apologise in order to go some way toward helping the parents and children who were victims of these practices.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 92

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 92 out of 92

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Alexander, Heidi Labour Party Lewisham East 13.06.2012
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 27.06.2012
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 18.06.2012
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 26.06.2012
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 02.07.2012
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 04.07.2012
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 11.06.2012
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 19.06.2012
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 05.03.2013
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 24.10.2012
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 19.06.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 23.05.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 22.05.2012
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 15.04.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 09.07.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 13.06.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 13.06.2012
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 13.09.2012
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 25.10.2012
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 03.07.2012
Davies, David TC Conservative Party Monmouth 29.10.2012
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 10.04.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 23.05.2012
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 15.10.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 20.06.2012
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 24.10.2012
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 02.07.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 21.05.2012
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 25.03.2013
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 17.01.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 23.05.2012
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 25.06.2012
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 06.02.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 21.05.2012
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 13.06.2012
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 29.01.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 11.06.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 22.05.2012
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 17.09.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 26.06.2012
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 13.06.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 22.05.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 23.05.2012
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 12.02.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 21.05.2012
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 10.07.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 25.02.2013
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats Bermondsey and Old Southwark 20.12.2012
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 15.10.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 25.06.2012
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 18.06.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 24.05.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 21.05.2012
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 18.12.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 29.10.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 20.06.2012
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 11.06.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 11.06.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 12.03.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 14.06.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 21.05.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 12.06.2012
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 18.10.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 19.06.2012
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 15.01.2013
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 23.05.2012
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 25.10.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 25.06.2012
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 25.02.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 22.05.2012
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 06.07.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 21.06.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 02.07.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 12.06.2012
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 25.06.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 22.05.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 25.06.2012
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 14.06.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 24.10.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 28.06.2012
Stephenson, Andrew Conservative Party Pendle 20.06.2012
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 04.09.2012
Thornton, Mike Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 18.03.2013
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 31.01.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 02.07.2012
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 18.09.2012
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 03.07.2012
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 14.06.2012
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 19.06.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 23.05.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 14.06.2012
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 23.10.2012