Early day motion 877

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House condemns the brutal gang rape and murder of the 23 year old young woman named by the people of India, `Nirbhaya Damini' Jyoti Singh Pandey, the brave heart and daughter of India, on 16 December 2012 in New Delhi, India, who was savagely attacked by a group of men on a bus and subsequently died from her injuries on 29 December 2012; supports the calls for greater protection for women across the world including here in the UK that have been triggered by this heinous crime; offers condolences to the grieving family and friends of Nirbhaya Damini and calls on the UK Government, judiciary and police to offer assistance to the Indian government to help bring about justice in this case and others like it; calls on the UK Government to work with the police and judiciary here in the UK to resolve more rape and violent crimes against women and to bring those responsible to justice; and believes that society at large must do much more to protect women from such abhorrent acts and that violence against women in all its forms cannot be tolerated and governments around the world and international bodies should do more protect women and to punish those who perpetrate such despicable acts including gang rape, rape, honour killings, forced marriages, female genital mutilation, infanticide, femicide, dowry-related violence and all kinds of domestic violence.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 75

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 75 out of 75

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 16.01.2013
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 16.01.2013
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 16.01.2013
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 15.01.2013
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 29.01.2013
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 16.01.2013
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 18.01.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 07.01.2013
Brazier, Julian Conservative Party Canterbury 16.01.2013
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 09.01.2013
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 16.01.2013
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 16.01.2013
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 09.01.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 09.01.2013
Cash, William Conservative Party Stone 27.02.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 10.01.2013
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 16.01.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 17.01.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 08.01.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 05.03.2013
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 16.01.2013
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 15.01.2013
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 13.02.2013
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 09.01.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 17.01.2013
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 16.01.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 07.01.2013
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 28.01.2013
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 16.01.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 17.01.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 07.01.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 08.01.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 15.01.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 09.01.2013
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 15.01.2013
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 09.01.2013
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 21.01.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 09.01.2013
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 21.01.2013
Jowell, Tessa Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 14.02.2013
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 25.01.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 14.01.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 24.01.2013
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 17.01.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 18.01.2013
McDonald, Andy Labour Party Middlesbrough 15.01.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 16.01.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 08.01.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 15.01.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 07.01.2013
Morris, David Conservative Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 15.01.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 12.02.2013
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 23.01.2013
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 21.01.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 15.01.2013
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 29.01.2013
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 17.01.2013
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 29.01.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 14.02.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 08.01.2013
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 16.01.2013
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 21.01.2013
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 25.01.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 08.01.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 07.01.2013
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 10.01.2013
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 16.01.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 08.01.2013
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 14.01.2013
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 10.01.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 16.01.2013
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 18.01.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 08.01.2013
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 16.01.2013
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 17.01.2013