Early day motion 875

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned by the UK National Screening Committee's (NSC) decision not to introduce routine screening of pregnant women for group B streptococcus; notes that every year hundreds of newborn babies suffer death and disability due to group B streptococcus infection and the numbers of reported cases in the UK has continued to rise by 23 per cent between 2003 and 2011; further notes the decline in group B streptococcus infection in babies where countries routinely screen; acknowledges the widespread support for screening during the NSC consultation with over 95 per cent of respondents in favour; recognises that at the Royal College of Midwives conference 75 per cent of midwives agreed that a routine offer of screening should be introduced; and calls on the UK National Screening Committee to reconsider this decision and follow the example of countries such as the US, Argentina, France, Kenya and Slovenia who support screening of group B streptococcus.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 40

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 40 out of 40

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 07.01.2013
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 09.01.2013
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 09.01.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 09.01.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 08.01.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 14.01.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 08.01.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 05.03.2013
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 08.01.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 20.12.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 07.01.2013
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 13.02.2013
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 09.01.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 08.01.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 08.01.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 09.01.2013
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 09.01.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 20.12.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 20.12.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 14.01.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 28.02.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 09.01.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 23.01.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 07.01.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 21.01.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 07.01.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 20.12.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 20.12.2012
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 29.01.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 14.02.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 08.01.2013
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 09.01.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 20.12.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 09.01.2013
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 10.01.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 08.01.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 07.01.2013
Soames, Nicholas Conservative Party Mid Sussex 24.01.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 20.12.2012
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 25.02.2013