Early day motion 871

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House considers that pleural plaques caused by negligent exposure to asbestos constitute actual harm; calls on the Government to reassess its stance on access to compensation for people suffering pleural plaques caused by exposure to asbestos and allow sufferers to sue their employers where there is proven negligence; and further calls on the Government to adopt the position taken in Scotland whereby sufferers may bring a claim under civil law for compensation where their condition was caused by the negligence of the employer.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 44

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 44 out of 44

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 07.01.2013
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 09.01.2013
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 19.12.2012
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 09.01.2013
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 22.01.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 09.01.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 08.01.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 14.01.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 20.12.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 05.03.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 17.01.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 07.01.2013
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 13.02.2013
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 09.01.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 17.01.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 08.01.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 20.12.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 09.01.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 08.01.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 15.01.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 09.01.2013
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 21.01.2013
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 09.01.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 20.12.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 08.01.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 09.01.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 14.01.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 23.01.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 20.12.2012
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 21.01.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 07.01.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 09.01.2013
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 18.04.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 14.02.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 09.01.2013
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 09.01.2013
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 08.01.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 19.12.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 20.12.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 09.01.2013
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 10.01.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 08.01.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 14.01.2013
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 14.01.2013