Early day motion 831

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes Iran's regime has so far executed over 120,000 political prisoners, the majority affiliated to the People's Mojahedin Organisation of Iran (PMOI) and tortured hundreds of thousands; is deeply shocked by the recent torture and murder of political opponent Sattar Beheshti;further notes that on 27 November 2012 the UN expressed deep concern at serious human rights violations in Iran relating to torture, the execution of minors, the imposition of the death penalty for moharebeh (enmity against God), rape of political prisoners, restrictions on the right to freedom of thought and worship, pervasive gender inequality and persecution of ethnic and religious minorities; further notes that Iran has ignored international calls to allow UN special rapporteurs to visit and that many political prisoners are incarcerated and executed simply for being related to PMOI members in camps Ashraf and Liberty or providing them with financial support; and urges the Government to condemn human rights abuse in Iran at the highest level, base any economic deals with Iran on improvements in the human rights situation, tighten sanctions against the regime in line with the UK's international partners, bring the regime's human rights dossier before the UN Security Council and call for prosecution of the regime's officials for crimes against humanity.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 87

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 87 out of 87

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Aldous, Peter Conservative Party Waveney 06.03.2013
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 19.12.2012
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 05.02.2013
Baldry, Tony Conservative Party Banbury 19.12.2012
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 08.02.2013
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 29.01.2013
Binley, Brian Conservative Party Northampton South 10.12.2012
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 18.12.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 10.12.2012
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 07.01.2013
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 08.02.2013
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 30.01.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 28.01.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.12.2012
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 07.02.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 01.02.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 18.12.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 05.03.2013
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 11.12.2012
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 07.02.2013
Davies, Glyn Conservative Party Montgomeryshire 10.04.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 19.12.2012
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 19.12.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 10.01.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 24.01.2013
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 20.12.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 10.12.2012
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 06.03.2013
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 21.01.2013
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 29.01.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 13.12.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 19.12.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 07.01.2013
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 06.03.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 17.12.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 26.02.2013
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 25.02.2013
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 28.01.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 13.12.2012
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 14.01.2013
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 09.01.2013
Jowell, Tessa Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 14.02.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 13.12.2012
Leigh, Edward Conservative Party Gainsborough 15.01.2013
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 10.04.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 07.01.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 15.01.2013
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 08.02.2013
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 24.01.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 11.12.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 23.01.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.03.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 08.02.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 13.12.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 07.02.2013
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 05.02.2013
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 07.02.2013
Paisley, Ian Jnr Democratic Unionist Party North Antrim 07.02.2013
Parish, Neil Conservative Party Tiverton and Honiton 08.02.2013
Percy, Andrew Conservative Party Brigg and Goole 06.03.2013
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 10.01.2013
Reevell, Simon Conservative Party Dewsbury 09.01.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 12.12.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 13.12.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 19.12.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 30.01.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 19.12.2012
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 23.01.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 11.12.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 15.01.2013
Shepherd, Richard Conservative Party Aldridge-Brownhills 14.02.2013
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 08.02.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 30.01.2013
Streeter, Gary Conservative Party South West Devon 07.03.2013
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 18.12.2012
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 08.02.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 28.01.2013
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 08.02.2013
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 07.01.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 08.01.2013
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 31.01.2013
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 24.01.2013
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 10.04.2013
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 12.12.2012
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 08.02.2013
Wright, Simon Liberal Democrats Norwich South 10.04.2013
Yeo, Tim Conservative Party South Suffolk 07.03.2013