Early day motion 822

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the increasing number of dog attacks on postmen and postwomen in the UK; is concerned by the frequency of attacks on workers and a lack of appropriate action in response; further notes that Royal Mail estimates that over 3,000 postmen and postwomen were attacked between April 2011 and April 2012; believes that no postal workers should face increased risk and fear of dog attacks because of their profession; further notes that England is soon to be the only part of the UK without updated dog laws; welcomes the findings of an independent inquiry led by former High Court judge Sir Gordon Langley into this issue; further welcomes Royal Mail's announcement that it will take a more robust approach to suspending deliveries to addresses where dog attacks occur and actively pursue legal action; and calls on the Government to support postmen and postwomen and the wider public by introducing tougher legal sanctions against the owners of dangerous dogs.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 82

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 82 out of 82

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 28.02.2013
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 28.02.2013
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 29.01.2013
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 01.03.2013
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 06.03.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 05.12.2012
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 18.12.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 12.12.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 11.12.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 12.12.2012
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 25.02.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 04.03.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 10.12.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 11.12.2012
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 28.02.2013
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 12.03.2013
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 28.02.2013
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 06.03.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 11.12.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 10.01.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 28.02.2013
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 27.02.2013
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 04.03.2013
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 28.02.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 06.12.2012
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 26.02.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 13.12.2012
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 04.03.2013
Gardiner, Barry Labour Party Brent North 28.02.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 10.12.2012
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 18.03.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 19.12.2012
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 06.03.2013
Hain, Peter Labour Party Neath 27.02.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 13.12.2012
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 25.02.2013
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 12.12.2012
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 11.03.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 06.12.2012
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 25.03.2013
Johnson, Alan Labour Party Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle 04.03.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 06.12.2012
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 28.02.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 13.12.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 26.02.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 05.03.2013
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 10.04.2013
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 17.12.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 11.12.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 23.01.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 11.12.2012
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 17.12.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 25.02.2013
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 04.03.2013
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 27.02.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 17.12.2012
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 26.02.2013
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 06.03.2013
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 18.03.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 12.12.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 07.03.2013
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 11.12.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 06.12.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 19.12.2012
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 27.02.2013
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 06.03.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 05.12.2012
Sawford, Andy Labour Party Corby 06.12.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 06.12.2012
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 11.03.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 06.12.2012
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 18.12.2012
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 18.03.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 05.12.2012
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 17.04.2013
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 28.02.2013
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 04.03.2013
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 01.03.2013
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 11.12.2012
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 12.03.2013
Woodward, Shaun Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 05.03.2013
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 28.02.2013