Early day motion 783

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes business rates are the third biggest expense for many small businesses after rent and wages; further notes business rates are a regressive tax not related to the ability to pay which places a disproportionate burden on small businesses; also notes the Institute for Fiscal Studies (IFS) Mirrlees Review which states, the business rate is not a good tax, which distorts economic behaviour; further notes using a monthly average RPI to determine the inflationary rise can lead to disproportionate rises in business rates, such as the 5.6 per cent increase in 2011, whereas using an annual average RPI would tend to flatten out spikes and make increases more predictable; supports the Federation of Small Businesses' call for the Government to review the process by which the inflationary uplift is decided; calls on the Chancellor of the Exchequer to extend beyond 31 March 2013 100 per cent relief on business rates for properties with a rateable value of 6,000 or less, to also extend beyond 31 March 2013 tapered relief for properties with a rateable value of less than 12,000 and to increase the threshold from 12,000 to 15,000; further calls for these extensions and increases in relief to be funded by the Treasury, as is the case with existing relief, and not translated into further cuts to already hard-pressed local authorities; and to urgently consider and bring before the House further measures to assist small businesses.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 28

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 28 out of 28

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 28.11.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 28.11.2012
Coffey, Ann Labour Party Stockport 27.11.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 27.11.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 05.12.2012
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 04.12.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 28.11.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 28.11.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 06.12.2012
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 03.12.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 28.11.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 04.12.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 03.12.2012
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 27.11.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 03.12.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 27.11.2012
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 25.02.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 28.11.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 28.11.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 29.11.2012
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 27.11.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 06.12.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 28.11.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 30.11.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 29.11.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 28.11.2012
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 15.01.2013
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 27.11.2012