Early day motion 776

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the launch of the Citizens Advice Scotland campaign Payday Loans: your rights, their responsibilities which aims to ensure short-term, high cost credit, known as payday lending, is fair and responsible and people are informed about their rights when taking out a payday loan; notes that Citizens Advice Bureaux (CAB) have been very concerned about unacceptable marketing, lending and debt collection practices of payday lenders in their local communities; welcomes Citizens Advice Scotland's campaign, which will monitor local lenders' implementation and adherence to the new Good Practice charter for payday lenders, which includes providing clear information and credit vetting; remains concerned that research shows payday loans are increasingly used to pay for essentials such as rent and bills and not for emergencies or luxuries; encourages anyone who believes they have been unfairly treated by a lender, or who has problems with debt, to seek advice from their local CAB; and calls on the Government to introduce a cap on the total cost of credit charged by payday lenders.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 36

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 36 out of 36

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 28.11.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 27.11.2012
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 30.11.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 28.11.2012
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 27.11.2012
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 26.11.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 27.11.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 29.11.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 28.11.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 29.11.2012
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 04.12.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 27.11.2012
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 28.11.2012
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 26.11.2012
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 17.12.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 27.11.2012
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 26.11.2012
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 29.11.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 28.11.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 28.11.2012
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 17.12.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 27.11.2012
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 04.12.2012
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 23.01.2013
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 26.11.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 12.12.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 28.11.2012
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 29.11.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 26.11.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 29.11.2012
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 30.11.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 28.11.2012
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 30.11.2012
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 28.11.2012
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 26.11.2012
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 29.11.2012