Early day motion 774

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the year one phonics screening check was analysed in a recent UK Literacy Association (UKLA) survey by an independent researcher at Sheffield Hallam University; further notes the survey overwhelmingly indicates that in teachers' and headteachers' professional judgment, the phonics screening check for six-year-olds has been costly, time-consuming and unnecessary, and can undermine the assurance of more fluent readers by labelling them as failures; agrees with the UKLA, the teacher unions and other professional associations that checks like this should not be imposed on all children, but used judiciously where a teacher thinks it would help to identify specific needs in a particular child; and calls on the Government to listen to the voice of professionals on this issue and ensure that the phonics screening check is not used in subsequent years for all children in year one, but is instead implemented at teachers' discretion.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 36

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 36 out of 36

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 17.12.2012
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 19.12.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 27.11.2012
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 18.12.2012
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 14.01.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 28.11.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 27.11.2012
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 16.01.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 07.01.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 26.11.2012
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 26.11.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 28.11.2012
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 28.02.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 07.01.2013
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 26.11.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 04.12.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 30.11.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 07.01.2013
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 13.12.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 26.11.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 13.12.2012
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 21.01.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 26.11.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 23.01.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 28.11.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 27.11.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 26.11.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 26.11.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 19.12.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 28.11.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 27.11.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 19.12.2012
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 05.02.2013
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 09.01.2013
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 30.01.2013
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 07.01.2013