Early day motion 773

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that the most significant development that has followed from the Government's healthcare reforms has been the £7 billion worth of new contracts being made available to the private health sector; further notes that at least five former advisers to the Prime Minister and the Chancellor of the Exchequer are now working for lobbying firms with private healthcare clients; recalls the Prime Minister's own reported remarks prior to the general election when he described lobbying as `the next big scandal waiting to happen'; recognises the growing scandal of the procurement model that favours the private health sector over the NHS, by allowing private companies to hide behind commercial confidentiality and which compromises the best practice aspirations of the public sector; condemns the practice of revolving doors, whereby Government health advisers move to lucrative contracts in the private healthcare sector, especially at a time when the privatisation of the NHS is proceeding by stealth; is deeply concerned at the unfair advantages being handed to private healthcare companies; and demands that in future all private healthcare companies be subject to freedom of information requests under the terms of the Freedom of Information Act 2000 in the same way as existing NHS public sector organisations.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 111

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 111 out of 111

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 22.01.2013
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 11.02.2013
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 14.01.2013
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 07.01.2013
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 13.12.2012
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 07.02.2013
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 17.01.2013
Blackman-Woods, Roberta Labour Party City of Durham 18.01.2013
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 05.12.2012
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 24.01.2013
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 07.03.2013
Brown, Nicholas Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne East 18.01.2013
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 16.01.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 28.11.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 27.11.2012
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 04.03.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 28.11.2012
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 24.01.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 27.11.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 14.01.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 26.11.2012
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 14.01.2013
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 15.01.2013
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 12.12.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 25.02.2013
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 05.12.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 28.11.2012
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 25.01.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 17.01.2013
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 16.01.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 26.11.2012
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 15.01.2013
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 25.03.2013
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 18.12.2012
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 31.01.2013
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 05.02.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 06.12.2012
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 05.12.2012
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 13.12.2012
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 28.02.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 28.11.2012
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 06.02.2013
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 26.11.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 04.12.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 10.12.2012
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 12.12.2012
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 28.11.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 30.11.2012
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 16.01.2013
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 04.12.2012
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 06.02.2013
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 05.03.2013
Hodge, Margaret Labour Party Barking 15.01.2013
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 15.01.2013
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 15.01.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 26.11.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 29.11.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 15.01.2013
Johnson, Alan Labour Party Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle 17.01.2013
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 22.01.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 26.11.2012
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 25.01.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 24.01.2013
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 25.02.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 12.12.2012
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 05.12.2012
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 11.12.2012
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 10.01.2013
McDonagh, Siobhain Labour Party Mitcham and Morden 05.02.2013
McDonald, Andy Labour Party Middlesbrough 17.12.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 28.11.2012
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 04.12.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 27.11.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 26.11.2012
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 11.03.2013
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 14.01.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 26.11.2012
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 22.01.2013
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 13.02.2013
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 21.01.2013
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 29.01.2013
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 27.02.2013
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 22.01.2013
Powell, Lucy Labour Party Manchester Central 25.03.2013
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 11.12.2012
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 28.11.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 28.11.2012
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 14.01.2013
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 24.01.2013
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 22.01.2013
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 28.11.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 30.11.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 29.11.2012
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 11.03.2013
Sawford, Andy Labour Party Corby 19.12.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 19.12.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 27.11.2012
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 21.01.2013
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 14.01.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 26.11.2012
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 28.11.2012
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 06.03.2013
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 04.03.2013
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 28.02.2013
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 07.03.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 28.11.2012
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 18.01.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 24.01.2013
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 15.01.2013
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 16.01.2013
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 16.01.2013