Early day motion 771

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that Animals Asia has been working with the Vietnamese government to end the practice of bear bile farming in Vietnam since 2005; further notes that the Animals Asia Vietnam Bear Rescue Centre located in Tam Dao National Park, which houses 104 rescued bears, is under threat of closure due to the land beingdeclared of national defence significance; further notes that this claim is questionable, given that the rescue centre has been in operation since 2005, and that the area in which it is located has been used for tourism and other private purposes since the park opened in 1996; observes that this eviction would lead to further welfare problems for the rescued bears, the loss of local jobs and a financial loss to the local economy; and calls on the UK Government to raise this matter with the Vietnamese Prime Minister with the aim of ensuring that the Vietnam Bear Rescue Centre remains in Tam Dao National Park and that Animals Asiais allowed to continueits vital rehabilitation and education work in partnership with the Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 55

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 55 out of 55

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Baldry, Tony Conservative Party Banbury 13.12.2012
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 18.12.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 26.11.2012
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 17.12.2012
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 10.01.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 28.11.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 27.11.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 28.11.2012
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 07.01.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 27.11.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 28.11.2012
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 30.11.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 28.11.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 29.11.2012
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 20.12.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 27.11.2012
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 18.12.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 28.11.2012
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 29.11.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 04.12.2012
Goldsmith, Zac Conservative Party Richmond Park 26.11.2012
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 27.11.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 30.11.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 27.11.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 28.11.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 10.12.2012
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 10.12.2012
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 11.12.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 03.12.2012
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 15.01.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 24.01.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 26.11.2012
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 20.12.2012
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 06.12.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 28.11.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 28.11.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 27.11.2012
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 11.12.2012
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 07.01.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 07.01.2013
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 17.12.2012
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 20.12.2012
Parish, Neil Conservative Party Tiverton and Honiton 26.11.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 19.12.2012
Reed, Steve Labour Party Croydon North 12.12.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 28.11.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 11.12.2012
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 03.12.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 27.11.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 29.11.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 28.11.2012
Streeter, Gary Conservative Party South West Devon 19.12.2012
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 14.01.2013
Weatherley, Mike Conservative Party Hove 16.01.2013
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 30.01.2013