Early day motion 749

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates the Committee of Public Accounts on its questioning of US multinationals over tax avoidance; condemns the manipulation by some multinationals of their accounts to minimise the payment of corporation tax; notes that none of the multinationals was able to defendits actions; agrees that these actions damage UK businesses that pay full taxes; further notes that, whilst not illegal, these actions are highly immoral; further notes that with the collapse of government revenue from 2008, corporation tax is vital in helping to balance the Government's books in a fair manner and that the immoral actions of some multinationals result in others paying more tax and in increased cuts to public expenditure; and calls on the Government to announce plans in the Autumn Statement to levy a form of turnover tax, attributable to economic activity in the UK and equivalent to the revenue which would normally have been raised through corporation tax, on any multinational found not to be paying an appropriate level of tax onits UK activities and to invite the UK's European partners to adopt a similar approach.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 45

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 45 out of 45

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 28.11.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 20.11.2012
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 21.11.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 21.11.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 21.11.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 20.11.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 22.11.2012
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 05.12.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 21.11.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 29.11.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 20.11.2012
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 20.11.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 20.11.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 20.11.2012
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 29.11.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 04.12.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 21.11.2012
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 20.11.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 26.11.2012
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 21.11.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 28.11.2012
Hodge, Margaret Labour Party Barking 20.11.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 21.11.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 29.11.2012
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 28.11.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 20.11.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 26.11.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 21.11.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 12.12.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 20.11.2012
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 22.11.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 21.11.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 12.12.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 21.11.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 20.11.2012
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 21.11.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 22.11.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 28.11.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 21.11.2012
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 06.12.2012
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 29.11.2012
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 28.11.2012
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 22.11.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 22.11.2012
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 15.01.2013