Early day motion 724

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House condemns the continued imprisonment of approximately 76 journalists in Turkey, the highest number in the world, on what appear to be politically motivated terror charges; expresses alarm over the arbitrary nature of these prosecutions and the lack of due process or fair treatment in the courts received by these journalists; holds deep concerns that a number of journalists in prison are on indefinite hunger strike; expresses apprehension over the deterioration in media freedom in Turkey, in particular the Kurdish media and those who are critical of government policy; and echoes the call of the European Federation of Journalists that Turkey should make urgent reforms to protect press freedom and drop charges against journalists being prosecuted under anti-terror and anti-state laws.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 29

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 29 out of 29

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 27.11.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 19.11.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 21.11.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 21.11.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 13.11.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 13.11.2012
Crouch, Tracey Conservative Party Chatham and Aylesford 22.11.2012
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 13.11.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 19.11.2012
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 21.11.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 04.12.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 20.11.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 19.11.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 13.11.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 13.11.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 21.11.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.11.2012
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 22.11.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 21.11.2012
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 13.11.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 20.11.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 30.11.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 13.11.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 20.11.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 19.11.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 20.11.2012
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 21.11.2012
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 22.11.2012
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 13.11.2012