Early day motion 651

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House deplores the Government's proposal to close down the Independent Living Fund which currently facilitates 19,373 of those with the highest support needs with the right to live in the community with choices equal to others, and their full inclusion and participation in the community, as anticipated by Article 19 of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities; regrets that the Government proposals to transfer the responsibilities of providing this support to local authorities and devolved administrations contain no commitment to maintain the current level of support, which will inevitably lead to an increase in isolation and segregation for many adults and the loss of independence and unnecessary admission of many others into residential care; believes the recent consultation on the issue lacked detail and based its assertions on outdated research; and calls on the Government to review this regressive step and look at ways of expanding the Independent Living Fund to provide needs-based support to all adults in the UK who require it.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 105

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 105 out of 105

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 17.12.2012
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 19.12.2012
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 01.11.2012
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 05.02.2013
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 08.11.2012
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 06.11.2012
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 05.12.2012
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 08.11.2012
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 31.10.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 12.11.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 30.10.2012
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 09.01.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 29.10.2012
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 22.11.2012
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 17.12.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 02.11.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 07.11.2012
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 31.10.2012
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 01.11.2012
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 12.12.2012
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 20.11.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 31.10.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 05.11.2012
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 11.12.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 01.11.2012
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 12.11.2012
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 09.11.2012
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 14.03.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 29.10.2012
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 31.10.2012
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 06.12.2012
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 07.11.2012
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 28.11.2012
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 11.12.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 07.11.2012
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 31.10.2012
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 07.11.2012
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 31.10.2012
Gardiner, Barry Labour Party Brent North 18.12.2012
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 29.10.2012
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 07.11.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 01.11.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 05.11.2012
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 19.11.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 07.11.2012
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 31.10.2012
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 17.12.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 31.10.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 30.10.2012
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 07.01.2013
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 20.11.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 07.11.2012
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 19.11.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 08.11.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 19.11.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 01.11.2012
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 06.11.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 06.11.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 01.11.2012
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 20.12.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 06.11.2012
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 24.04.2013
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 11.12.2012
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 19.11.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 31.10.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 05.11.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 29.10.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 30.10.2012
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 27.11.2012
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 09.01.2013
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 05.11.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 07.11.2012
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 26.02.2013
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 12.12.2012
Nash, Pamela Labour Party Airdrie and Shotts 17.01.2013
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 12.11.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 15.01.2013
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 12.12.2012
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 12.12.2012
Powell, Lucy Labour Party Manchester Central 25.03.2013
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 07.11.2012
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 08.11.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 29.10.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 31.10.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 06.11.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 17.01.2013
Sawford, Andy Labour Party Corby 03.12.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 30.10.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 05.11.2012
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 19.12.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 30.10.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 30.10.2012
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 06.12.2012
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 13.11.2012
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 12.12.2012
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 09.11.2012
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 08.11.2012
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 31.10.2012
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 11.12.2012
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 08.11.2012
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 28.11.2012
Winnick, David Labour Party Walsall North 09.11.2012
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 27.11.2012
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 06.11.2012
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 06.11.2012