Early day motion 650

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) across the country are suffering acutely as a result of late payment, with many firms' survival being put at risk by cash flow problems; recognises that large companies and Government agencies have a moral duty to pay suppliers promptly; further notes that recent figures suggest that over one million SMEs are currently being affected by late payment and that the total outstanding funds owed amount to 36.4 billion; further recognises the steps taken by the previousadministration to tackle late payment, including bypassing the Late Payment of Commercial Debts (Interest) Act 1998 and working alongside business organisations and the Institute of Credit Management tolaunch and get firms signed-up to the Prompt Payment Code; applauds firms which are signed-up to and abide by the Prompt Payment Code and which pay their suppliers on time; further notes the success of the Be Fair Pay on Time campaign in signing-up 12 additional FTSE 100 firms to the Code; regrets that some FTSE 100 firms have so far refused to sign-up to the Code while others have failed to respond to the campaign; further notes the Government's failure to transpose the EU directive on late payments into UK law earlier than required, despite having promised to do so; and calls both on large firms to sign-up to the Prompt Payment Code and the Government to redouble efforts to sign-up firms to the Code and to tackle late payment.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 60

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 60 out of 60

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abrahams, Debbie Labour Party Oldham East and Saddleworth 29.10.2012
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 07.11.2012
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 02.11.2012
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 06.11.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 29.10.2012
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 31.10.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 30.10.2012
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 26.11.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 02.11.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 07.11.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 19.11.2012
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 29.10.2012
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 31.10.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 05.11.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 05.11.2012
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 01.11.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 01.11.2012
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 02.11.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 29.10.2012
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 29.10.2012
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 07.11.2012
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 31.10.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 29.10.2012
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 29.10.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 01.11.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 05.11.2012
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 31.10.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 30.10.2012
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 20.11.2012
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 05.11.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 01.11.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 06.11.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 01.11.2012
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 09.11.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 05.11.2012
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 07.11.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 31.10.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 05.11.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 31.10.2012
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 29.10.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 30.10.2012
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 05.11.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 29.10.2012
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 26.02.2013
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 05.11.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 08.11.2012
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 29.10.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 08.11.2012
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 08.11.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 31.10.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 31.10.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 30.10.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 05.11.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 30.10.2012
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 13.11.2012
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 29.10.2012
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 08.11.2012
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 02.11.2012
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 31.10.2012
Woodward, Shaun Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 01.11.2012