Early day motion 647

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that one of the Government's priorities is for all children to read daily for pleasure; believes that every school should have a well-stocked library; further notes that research shows that children who have access to a school library and who read for pleasure reach higher levels of attainment in all subjects; further notes that the best way to encourage children to read for pleasure is by free voluntary reading; and calls on the Government to continue to take all necessary steps to encourage school libraries.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 53

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 53 out of 53

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 19.11.2012
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 07.11.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 29.10.2012
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 12.11.2012
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 31.10.2012
Cash, William Conservative Party Stone 29.10.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 30.10.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 02.11.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 07.11.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 01.11.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 07.11.2012
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 10.04.2013
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 01.11.2012
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 12.11.2012
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 12.11.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 29.10.2012
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 07.11.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 29.10.2012
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 12.12.2012
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 30.10.2012
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 18.04.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 07.11.2012
Hendry, Charles Conservative Party Wealden 18.03.2013
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 07.11.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 07.11.2012
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 07.01.2013
Jowell, Tessa Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 20.12.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 01.11.2012
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 01.11.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 01.11.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 09.11.2012
Main, Anne Conservative Party St Albans 19.11.2012
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 31.10.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 31.10.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 05.11.2012
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 09.11.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 30.10.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 08.11.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 29.10.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 31.10.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 29.10.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 30.10.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 08.11.2012
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 09.11.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 30.10.2012
Streeter, Gary Conservative Party South West Devon 25.03.2013
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 21.11.2012
Walker, Robin Conservative Party Worcester 19.11.2012
Walter, Robert Conservative Party North Dorset 27.11.2012
White, Chris Conservative Party Warwick and Leamington 11.12.2012
Whittaker, Craig Conservative Party Calder Valley 07.11.2012
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 19.11.2012
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 12.03.2013