Early day motion 64

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that Group B streptococcus (GBS) is the most common cause of life-threatening infection in newborn babies in the UK and Ireland, affecting one in 2000 babies born every year; congratulates Group B Strep Support, the UK's only charity focused on GBS infection in newborn babies, on its continued work to raise awareness of the infection, testing and prevention; recognises that a small but growing number of NHS trusts have introduced ECM testing which is twice as effective as traditional HVS testing; is concerned that prevalence of deaths relating to GBS has been steadily rising since 2003; urges the Department of Health to ensure ECM testing is available urgently; and further supports both the efficacy of screening and the need for a vaccine made available on the NHS.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 39

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 39 out of 39

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 19.11.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 15.05.2012
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 11.06.2012
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 17.07.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 16.05.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 16.05.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 13.06.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 22.05.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 16.05.2012
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 16.05.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 16.05.2012
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 19.06.2012
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 18.06.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 21.05.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 17.05.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 15.05.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 26.06.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 22.05.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 21.05.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 15.05.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 25.06.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 21.05.2012
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 17.05.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 17.05.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 24.10.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 26.10.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 22.05.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 22.05.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 12.11.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 17.05.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 21.05.2012
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 16.07.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 17.07.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 16.05.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 16.05.2012
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 21.11.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 16.05.2012
Soames, Nicholas Conservative Party Mid Sussex 16.05.2012
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 13.07.2012