Early day motion 62

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned that the reported incidence of Group B streptococcus (GBS) infection in newborn babies in England, Wales and Northern Ireland increased by 32 per cent between 2003 and 2010; recognises that GBS is the most common cause of life-threatening infection in newborn babies in the UK; notes that without preventative action one in 1,000 newborn babies per year will develop GBS infection, of whom approximately 75 will die and 40 will survive with long-term problems; welcomes the current review of the benefits of a national screening programme being undertaken by the UK National Screening Committee; and further notes that where screening programmes have been introduced, including in the United States, Spain, Australia and France, reported cases of GBS infection in newborn babies have fallen by 86 per cent, 86 per cent, 82 per cent and 71 per cent respectively.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 46

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 46 out of 46

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 19.11.2012
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 21.05.2012
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 23.05.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 15.05.2012
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 11.06.2012
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 16.05.2012
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 17.07.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 11.06.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 16.05.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 13.06.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 22.05.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 16.05.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 17.05.2012
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 16.05.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 15.05.2012
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 19.06.2012
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 18.06.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 21.05.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 17.05.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 17.05.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 17.05.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 26.06.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 22.05.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 21.05.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 15.05.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 11.06.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 24.05.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 17.05.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 31.10.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 22.05.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 14.06.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 22.05.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 12.11.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 16.05.2012
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 17.05.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 24.05.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 16.05.2012
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 16.07.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 23.05.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 17.07.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 16.05.2012
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 21.11.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 16.05.2012
Soames, Nicholas Conservative Party Mid Sussex 16.05.2012
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 13.07.2012
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 19.11.2012