Early day motion 574

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House applauds the members and representatives of the Union of Shop, Distributive and Allied Workers (USDAW) for their Freedom From Fear Campaign, which seeks to bring together employers, police and local authorities to tackle the scourge of violence, threats and abuse against shopworkers; further applauds the work of all trade unions in running campaigns that seek to protect their members at work; notes that all public-facing workers are at risk of being assaulted and that around 80 per cent of UK workers have interactions with the general public during their working day; welcomes the decrease in incidents against shopworkers, now at less than half the 2004 levels, but remains concerned that in the last 12 months, incidents of violence and verbal assault against retail staff increased by 83 per cent as recorded by the British Retail Consortium's Annual Retail Crime Survey; is appalled that still every minute of every day another shopworker is assaulted, threatened or abused; and therefore calls on the Government to support the Protection of Workers Bill that will extend the provisions of the Emergency Workers (Scotland) Act 2005 and Emergency Workers (Obstruction) Act 2006 to all public facing workers, by imposing an additional penalty for those who assault workers in the course of their duties.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 89

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 89 out of 89

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 01.11.2012
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 18.10.2012
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 30.10.2012
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 06.11.2012
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 13.03.2013
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 24.10.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 17.10.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 16.10.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 26.11.2012
Coffey, Ann Labour Party Stockport 27.11.2012
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 02.11.2012
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 31.10.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 22.10.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 24.10.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 06.11.2012
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 30.10.2012
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 22.10.2012
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 06.11.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 29.10.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 17.10.2012
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 01.11.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 01.11.2012
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 31.10.2012
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 12.11.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 15.10.2012
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 30.10.2012
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 11.12.2012
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 31.10.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 19.10.2012
Fovargue, Yvonne Labour Party Makerfield 30.10.2012
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 17.10.2012
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 31.10.2012
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 26.03.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 24.10.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 17.10.2012
Griffith, Nia Labour Party Llanelli 08.01.2013
Halfon, Robert Conservative Party Harlow 07.11.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 17.10.2012
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 30.10.2012
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 31.10.2012
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 02.11.2012
Hodge, Margaret Labour Party Barking 22.11.2012
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 29.10.2012
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 20.11.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 17.10.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 06.11.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 23.10.2012
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 05.11.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 22.10.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 26.11.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 01.11.2012
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 31.10.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 09.11.2012
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 31.10.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 17.10.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 05.11.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.10.2012
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 26.10.2012
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 19.11.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 23.10.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 05.11.2012
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 29.10.2012
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 01.11.2012
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 15.10.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 22.10.2012
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 06.11.2012
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 18.10.2012
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 12.11.2012
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 30.10.2012
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 05.11.2012
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 08.11.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 16.10.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 15.10.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 01.11.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 16.10.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 17.10.2012
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 18.10.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 09.11.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 16.10.2012
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 31.10.2012
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 05.11.2012
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 10.04.2013
Thomas, Gareth (Harrow West) Labour Party Harrow West 24.10.2012
Turner, Karl Labour Party Kingston upon Hull East 15.10.2012
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 30.10.2012
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 08.11.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 30.10.2012
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 08.11.2012
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 10.04.2013