Early day motion 573

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House urges the Government to accept the case for introducing, on a trial basis, limited standing areas at grounds of clubs in the Premier League and Championship whose management want to participate in such trials; further urges the Government to recognise there is widespread support for such areas and that improvements in stadium design and technology mean that, with rigorous safety specifications, standing areas can be safely introduced; notes the long-term success of new standing technology in many other European leagues, including the German Bundesliga, the availability of this technology in the UK and plans by the Scottish Premier League to initiate trials; and calls on the Government to amend the Football Spectators Act 1989 by statutory instrument to allow this pilot to take place.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 67

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 67 out of 67

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 01.11.2012
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 18.10.2012
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 13.12.2012
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 01.03.2013
Binley, Brian Conservative Party Northampton South 30.11.2012
Birtwistle, Gordon Liberal Democrats Burnley 22.11.2012
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 30.10.2012
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 06.12.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 05.11.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 09.11.2012
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 17.01.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 24.10.2012
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 12.11.2012
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 02.11.2012
Davis, David Conservative Party Haltemprice and Howden 18.12.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 19.12.2012
Evans, Jonathan Conservative Party Cardiff North 17.12.2012
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 19.11.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 01.11.2012
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 31.10.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 12.11.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 24.10.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 15.10.2012
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 19.11.2012
Halfon, Robert Conservative Party Harlow 21.11.2012
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 19.11.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 17.10.2012
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 06.12.2012
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 31.10.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 08.11.2012
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 10.12.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 21.11.2012
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 02.11.2012
Hunt, Tristram Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 30.11.2012
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 08.11.2012
Jones, Marcus Conservative Party Nuneaton 12.03.2013
Jowell, Tessa Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 20.12.2012
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 30.10.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 22.10.2012
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 13.11.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 26.11.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.10.2012
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 27.11.2012
Mordaunt, Penny Conservative Party Portsmouth North 12.11.2012
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 08.11.2012
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 31.10.2012
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 30.10.2012
Percy, Andrew Conservative Party Brigg and Goole 06.11.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 08.11.2012
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 11.12.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 12.12.2012
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 07.01.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 13.11.2012
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 05.11.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 13.11.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 07.01.2013
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 17.12.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 01.11.2012
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 16.10.2012
Stuart, Graham Conservative Party Beverley and Holderness 07.11.2012
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 22.11.2012
Weatherley, Mike Conservative Party Hove 25.02.2013
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 06.11.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 26.11.2012
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 28.11.2012
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 22.11.2012
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 20.11.2012