Early day motion 534

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the comments by the Prime Minister that the recent rise in carrier bag use is unacceptable and the statement by the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs that if the use of carrier bags does not decrease, the Government will consider taking additional measures; further welcomes the Break the Bag Habit campaign by the Campaign to Protect Rural England, Keep Britain Tidy, the Marine Conservation Society and Surfers Against Sewage and the Greener upon Thames Plastic Bag Free campaign; and calls on the Government to require retailers to impose a charge on all single use carrier bags, replicating the successful scheme in Wales and many other countries.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 46

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 46 out of 46

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 17.10.2012
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 16.10.2012
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 07.02.2013
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 09.01.2013
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 17.10.2012
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 29.10.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 21.01.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 17.09.2012
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 10.01.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 17.09.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 15.10.2012
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 17.10.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 15.10.2012
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 16.10.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 17.09.2012
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 17.10.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 18.09.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 15.10.2012
Goldsmith, Zac Conservative Party Richmond Park 17.09.2012
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 15.10.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 15.10.2012
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 18.10.2012
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 26.10.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 18.10.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 15.10.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 18.09.2012
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 29.10.2012
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 16.10.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 17.09.2012
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 17.09.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 17.09.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 17.09.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 17.10.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 17.09.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 18.09.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 16.10.2012
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 23.10.2012
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 18.09.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 18.09.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 18.09.2012
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 14.01.2013
Tredinnick, David Conservative Party Bosworth 17.09.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 19.10.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 16.10.2012
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 22.10.2012
Wright, Simon Liberal Democrats Norwich South 18.04.2013