Early day motion 526

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes that more should be done to prevent laser pen attacks on aircraft due to the danger caused to passengers and crew of such actions distracting pilots and temporarily impairing their vision; recognises that such attacks could lead to a loss of control of any particular aircraft leading to potentially devastating and life-threatening consequences; notes the additional concern that aircraft including helicopters may come under attack while on urgent journeys and such time delays could place others at unnecessary risk or inconvenience; further notes the mindless and often malicious nature of such attacks, which have not decreased significantly in number or frequency despite the new legislation introduced in 2011; welcomes the work of the Civil Aviation Authority in analysing the nature of such attacks and working alongside local police to apprehend those responsible but notes that the lack of significant reduction in incidents indicates more should be done; and calls on the Department for Transport to consider further action to tackle the problem and ensure those responsible are caught and appropriately punished.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 17

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 17 out of 17

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 18.09.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 24.10.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 01.11.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 19.10.2012
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 18.09.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 17.09.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 15.10.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 18.09.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 12.11.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 17.09.2012
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 14.09.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 17.09.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 18.09.2012
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 13.09.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 18.09.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 17.09.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 18.09.2012