Early day motion 440

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with alarm the report from Physicians for Human Rights on Weaponising Tear Gas highlighting the use of toxic chemical agents by Bahraini security forces against civilians; further notes with concern its findings that Barhraini forces failed to exercise restraint before resorting to force, used disproportionate force when responding to protesters and failed to minimise damage and injury to demonstrators; draws particular attention to seven instances of miscarriages where the pregnant woman had recently been heavily exposed to tear-gas as well as to an earlier list compiled by Physicians for Human Rights of 34 individuals who have died in Bahrain in a 12-month period from tear-gas related deaths; opposes reprisals against Bahraini pro-democracy protesters including the nine medics who had their convictions upheld in June; and calls on the Government to ensure that human rights concerns form the centre-point of all discussions with the Bahraini government until such time that the human rights situation in that country improves.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 29

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 29 out of 29

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 12.09.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 03.09.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 11.09.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 03.09.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 03.09.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 10.09.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 04.09.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 03.09.2012
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 07.09.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 06.09.2012
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 17.09.2012
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 07.09.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 06.09.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 06.09.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 04.09.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 10.09.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 12.09.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 26.10.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 04.09.2012
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 14.09.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 04.09.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 12.09.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 11.09.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 04.09.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 04.09.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 05.09.2012
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 11.09.2012
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 07.09.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 15.10.2012