Early day motion 419

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned at the implications for ferry passenger services and the workforce of the Scottish Government's decision to award Serco the 2012-18 contract for the Northern Isles; notes that Serco will receive a 243 million public subsidy for the 351 million contract to run these lifeline ferry services for profit; further notes that the public sector provider received 162 million for the previous Northern Isles contract and that passenger and business satisfaction with North Link's service was high; is deeply concerned that the sale of the Northern Isles contract increases the threat of privatisation of Clyde and Hebridean Ferry Services (CHFS), particularly on the more profitable Oban-Craignure, Ardrossan-Brodick, Largs-Cumbrae, Pentland Firth and Wemyss-Rothesay routes when the 2013-19 CHFS contract is tendered later this year; and calls on the Scottish Government to use the Final Ferries Plan to categorically rule out privatisation on CHFS routes and to honour existing workforce protections in any new contract.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 32

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 32 out of 32

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 16.07.2012
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 17.07.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 16.07.2012
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 16.07.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 16.07.2012
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 16.07.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 16.07.2012
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 16.07.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 03.09.2012
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 16.07.2012
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 17.07.2012
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 16.07.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 06.09.2012
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 06.09.2012
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 03.09.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 17.07.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 16.07.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 04.09.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 16.07.2012
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 16.07.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 04.09.2012
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 16.07.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 16.07.2012
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 16.07.2012
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 03.09.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 16.07.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 16.07.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 05.09.2012
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 04.09.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 17.07.2012
Turner, Karl Labour Party Kingston upon Hull East 16.07.2012
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 16.07.2012