Early day motion 353

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House supports the recommendations of the Royal College of Surgeons' report Overcoming barriers to innovation in surgery; notes that on average a person will have five surgical episodes in their lifetime and that surgery is one of the most effective treatments for cancer; further notes that less than two per cent of national funding for medical research is given to surgical projects; asks the Government and medical research charities to support the recommendations of the report, namely that providers of NHS services should be incentivised to support surgical trials, research modules should be incorporated into surgical training and that surgeons should have protected time to carry out research and be able to offer patients the opportunity to take part in clinical trials; and calls on the Department of Health and the surgical profession to explore how to disseminate the latest information on new techniques and technologies.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 17

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 17 out of 17

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 11.07.2012
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 06.07.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 11.07.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 17.07.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 10.07.2012
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 11.07.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 11.07.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 10.07.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 10.07.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 09.07.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 03.09.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 03.09.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 09.07.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 09.07.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 10.07.2012
Tredinnick, David Conservative Party Bosworth 12.07.2012
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 11.07.2012