Early day motion 225

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House commemorates Alan Turing on his birthday, 23 June, for his many mathematical and scientific breakthroughs including the vital contribution he made to Britain's war effort by inventing the machine that broke the Enigma code; regrets that following his years of national service, he received a criminal conviction for having a sexual relationship with another man; deplores the fact that he was forced to take oestrogen therapy or be sent to prison if he did not comply; expresses profound sorrow that he went on to take his own life on 8 June 1954 at the age of just 41 years; recognises that so far over 34,000 people have signed the e-petition on the 10 Downing Street website calling for Alan Turing to be pardoned; calls therefore for a posthumous or disregarded conviction to be granted; and acknowledges the huge and unnecessary suffering that he and so many other gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender people have had to endure.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 36

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 36 out of 36

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 25.06.2012
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 05.07.2012
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 28.06.2012
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 09.07.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 19.06.2012
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 27.06.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 20.06.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 21.06.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 06.07.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 20.06.2012
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 20.06.2012
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 26.06.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 20.06.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 20.06.2012
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 19.06.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 02.07.2012
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 03.07.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 26.06.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 25.06.2012
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 21.06.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 21.06.2012
Kirby, Simon Conservative Party Brighton Kemptown 05.07.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 19.06.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 04.07.2012
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 21.06.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 20.06.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 20.06.2012
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 20.06.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 21.06.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 21.06.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 27.06.2012
Stephenson, Andrew Conservative Party Pendle 20.06.2012
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 19.06.2012
Weatherley, Mike Conservative Party Hove 05.07.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 21.06.2012
Wright, Simon Liberal Democrats Norwich South 03.07.2012