Early day motion 137

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the Government's decision to retain the Support for Maritime Training (SMarT) fund; notes that the annual 12 million fund will be retained for the remainder of this Parliament; further notes that only four per cent or 500,000 of SMarT funding is spent on ratings training, with the vast majority used for officer and officer cadet training; is alarmed by the findings of the independent study into the SMarT scheme that there will be a combined deficit of 4,300 in UK officers and ratings by 2021; is concerned that around 60 per cent of UK certificated officers and 75 per cent of UK deck and engine ratings currently active at sea are aged 40 or over; and calls on the Government to use funds paid in lieu of training by shipping companies benefiting from tax breaks under the tonnage tax to fund ratings and officer training in the UK, particularly as the proportion of UK seafarers employed on tonnage tax ships declined from 52 per cent in 2001-02, when it was introduced, to 27 per cent in 2010-11.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 34

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 34 out of 34

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 18.06.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 23.05.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 13.06.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.06.2012
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 16.07.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 12.06.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 21.06.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 11.06.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 20.06.2012
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 25.06.2012
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 23.05.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 23.05.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 14.06.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 23.05.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 26.06.2012
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 13.06.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 14.06.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 24.05.2012
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 11.06.2012
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 24.05.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 24.05.2012
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 13.06.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 23.05.2012
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 05.07.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 24.05.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 23.05.2012
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 13.06.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 24.05.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 11.06.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 12.06.2012
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 25.06.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 11.06.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 11.06.2012
Turner, Karl Labour Party Kingston upon Hull East 23.05.2012