Early day motion 128

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that it has been over five months since it passed a motion on 5 December 2011 calling on the Government to reform the UK's extradition arrangements to strengthen the protection of British citizens by both introducing, as a matter of urgency, a Bill to enact the safeguards recommended by the Joint Committee on Human Rights in its Fifteenth Report of Session 2010-12,HC 767, and by pursuing such amendments to the UK-US Extradition Treaty 2003 and the EU Council Framework Decision 2002 on the European Arrest Warrant asare necessary in order to give effect to such recommendations; further notes that it is over seven months since the Scott Baker Review of the UK's extradition laws; welcomes the announcement in March 2012 by President Obama and the Prime Minister of a joint initiative to look into the operation of the UK-US Extradition Treaty; believes that it would not be in the public interest for anyone to be extradited to the US from the UK until theurgent legislation called for by Parliament to amend the 2003 Treaty has been passed; supports the Home Affairs Select Committee's recommendation for the Home Secretary to publish the evidence to the Baker Review immediately; and calls on the Government to bring forward legislation in line with Parliament's wishes.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 65

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 65 out of 65

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Alexander, Heidi Labour Party Lewisham East 04.07.2012
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 23.05.2012
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 23.05.2012
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 26.06.2012
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 13.06.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.06.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.05.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 13.06.2012
Davis, David Conservative Party Haltemprice and Howden 23.05.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 11.06.2012
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 19.06.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 23.05.2012
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 27.06.2012
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 10.07.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 09.07.2012
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 19.06.2012
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 11.06.2012
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 18.06.2012
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 20.06.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 24.05.2012
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 18.06.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 11.06.2012
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 26.06.2012
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 02.07.2012
Hodge, Margaret Labour Party Barking 02.07.2012
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 02.07.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 24.05.2012
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 15.10.2012
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 13.06.2012
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 11.06.2012
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 11.06.2012
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 20.06.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 12.06.2012
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 20.06.2012
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 23.05.2012
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 13.06.2012
Malhotra, Seema Labour Party Feltham and Heston 03.09.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 14.06.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 23.05.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 24.05.2012
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 13.06.2012
Morris, David Conservative Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 13.06.2012
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 03.09.2012
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 18.09.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 24.05.2012
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 03.09.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 11.06.2012
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 13.06.2012
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 20.06.2012
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 20.06.2012
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 21.06.2012
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 23.05.2012
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 11.06.2012
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 23.05.2012
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 11.06.2012
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 03.09.2012
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 15.10.2012
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 05.09.2012
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 27.06.2012
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 12.07.2012
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 13.06.2012
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 27.06.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 19.06.2012
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 15.10.2012
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 03.09.2012