Early day motion 1250

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House supports the continuation of the state-owned Directly Operated Railways operating the London to Scotland East Coast mainline; congratulates it for generating £640 million in premiums and profits which has been paid to the Government since 2009; further congratulates it for achieving record customer satisfaction, which is in stark contrast to the failed model of National Express, a private and almost unworkable franchise that reneged on a £1.4 billion contract; recalls the fiasco over the failed West Coast franchise; rejects Government plans to return the East Coast route to private ownership before the 2015 general election, surrendering significant future public profits; and strongly believes that a publicly-owned railway system is in the public interest and beneficial to Government and customer alike.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 26

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 26 out of 26

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 26.03.2013
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 10.04.2013
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 17.04.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 16.04.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 17.04.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 10.04.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 26.03.2013
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 26.03.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 15.04.2013
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 18.04.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 22.04.2013
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 10.04.2013
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 26.03.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 18.04.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 10.04.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 10.04.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 26.03.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 26.03.2013
McDonald, Andy Labour Party Middlesbrough 26.03.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 16.04.2013
McKinnell, Catherine Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 26.03.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 26.03.2013
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 23.04.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 26.03.2013
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 26.03.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 26.03.2013