Early day motion 1245

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House records that 50 years ago, Dr Richard Beeching, as Chairman of British Railways, presented a report on the future of the UK railway network which was accepted by the Conservative Government; recalls that in March 1963 Dr Beeching announced the closure of 2,128 stations, the scrapping of 8,000 railway coaches, the cutting of 67,000 staff and the axing of branch lines to many destinations throughout the country; notes that 50 years later the UK now has a truncated rail network which provides poor service to commuters at exorbitant prices while the amount of payments and subsidies paid by the taxpayer to the private train operators since privatisation far exceeds, proportionally, the subsidies that were paid to British Rail prior to privatisation; believes therefore that privatisation of the railways has brought no benefit to taxpayers or commuters; and, therefore, further believes that there is a compelling case for bringing the whole railway system under a different form of ownership and operation.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 16

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 16 out of 16

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 10.04.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 26.03.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 10.04.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 26.03.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 26.03.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 26.03.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 25.03.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 10.04.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 26.03.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 10.04.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 26.03.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 26.03.2013
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 23.04.2013
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 23.04.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 26.03.2013
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 26.03.2013