Early day motion 1216

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is aware of the occupation taking place at the University of Sussex, which is part of an ongoing campaign by staff and students to oppose the University's plans to outsource key services, including catering and estates management, transferring more than 10 per cent of the workforce from university employment to private contractors; shares concerns about third party providers being contracted to undertake such services and is disappointed that the University has not fully considered the option of an in-house service improvement plan instead; regrets that neither trades unions nor the student union were properly involved in the outsourcing decisions taken by the University and continue to feel excluded from the decision-making processes; notes research that shows privatisation of services does not automatically raise the quality of what is on offer and that in many other institutions outsourcing has been accompanied by a significant decline in service levels, resulting in services being brought back in-house; expresses deep concern at the Government's promotion of the commercialisation of the higher education sector; and calls on Sussex and other universities to oppose moves to turn universities into businesses and students into consumers.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 32

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 32 out of 32

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 19.03.2013
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 10.04.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 10.04.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 21.03.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 19.03.2013
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 15.04.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 19.03.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 10.04.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 26.03.2013
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 10.04.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 20.03.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 22.03.2013
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 26.03.2013
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 10.04.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 19.03.2013
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 25.03.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 25.03.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 22.03.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 25.03.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 25.03.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 21.03.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 26.03.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 19.03.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 19.03.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 26.03.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 25.03.2013
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 25.03.2013
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 18.04.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 20.03.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 26.03.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 25.03.2013
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 25.03.2013