Early day motion 1215

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates the Society of Biology on organising Voice of the Future 2013 on 20 March at the House and on its continuing commitment under its Royal Charter to serve the public benefit by seeking to assist right hon. and hon. Members with a better understanding of science; notes that Voice of the Future 2013 is taking place during National Science and Engineering Week and involves young scientists and engineers from all over the UK, including A Level science students; further notes that the event will be addressed by the Minister for Universities and Science, the Shadow Minister for Universities and Science and the Government's Chief Scientific Adviser, Sir John Beddington; further notes the special Science Question Time with hon. Members on the Select Committee on Science and Technology; applauds the involvement in this event of many of the UK's greatest science and engineering organisations, including the Royal Society, the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Society of Biology, the Institute of Physics, the Biochemical Society, the Royal Society of Edinburgh, the Society for Experimental Biology, the Society for Applied Microbiology, the British Pharmacological Society, the Society for Experimental Biology, the Society of Endocrinology, the Council for the Mathematical Sciences, the Geological Society, the Royal Astronomical Society, the Royal Society of Chemistry and the Open University; and welcomes the contribution that Voice of the Future 2013 can make to building and maintaining a constructive dialogue between Parliament and the younger generation of scientists and engineers.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 24

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 24 out of 24

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 21.03.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 22.03.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 10.04.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 26.03.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 20.03.2013
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 20.03.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 20.03.2013
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 10.04.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 19.03.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 22.03.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 21.03.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 21.03.2013
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 26.03.2013
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats Bermondsey and Old Southwark 10.04.2013
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 19.03.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 26.03.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.03.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 26.03.2013
Metcalfe, Stephen Conservative Party Basildon South and Thurrock East 19.03.2013
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 19.03.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 10.04.2013
Tredinnick, David Conservative Party Bosworth 22.03.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 10.04.2013
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 21.03.2013