Early day motion 1213

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is extremely concerned by the continued detention without trial and disappearance without trace of those in the Gambia who are perceived as opponents of the Gambian government, as reported by Fabakary B. Ceesay in the Forayaa newspaper on 21 February 2013; notes with alarm the continued unlawful arrests, harassment and detention of journalists and activists; draws particular attention to the case of journalist Ebrima Manneh about whom no further information has been released since 2011 when he was said to be alive by the Gambian Attorney General and Minister for Justice, Edward Gomez, five years after being detained, and to the disappearance of Captain Mahmoud Babadi Sarr who, according to his family, has been in detention since late 2009 but has not been tried; further notes with anxiety that on 26 August 2012 nine prisoners, including one woman, were executed by firing squad, as reported in a statement by Gambia's interior ministry; and asks the Government urgently to raise the cases of detentions without trial and disappearances in the Gambia whilst also looking for opportunities to call on the Gambian government to comply with international and regional human rights obligations.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 28

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 28 out of 28

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 10.04.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 21.03.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 18.03.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 19.03.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 10.04.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 26.03.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 19.03.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 19.03.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 20.03.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 25.03.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 20.03.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 22.03.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 21.03.2013
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 20.03.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 21.03.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 19.03.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 26.03.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 20.03.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 18.03.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 19.03.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 26.03.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 19.03.2013
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 21.03.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 19.03.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 19.03.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 20.03.2013
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 22.04.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 16.04.2013