Early day motion 1210

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the recent closure of Cockenzie Power Station in East Lothian as part of a pre-agreed decommissioning programme with National Grid; acknowledges its huge contribution to the local economy and the UK's electricity output over its 45 years of operation, during which it powered on average approximately one million homes across the UK per year; commends the estimated 10,000 staff involved in its construction and operation over the station's lifetime, and welcomes the fact that many of its current approximately 100 staff will move to other power stations or business areas with Scottish Power; looks forward to the continued legacy of the site of Cockenzie Power Station on the Forth Estuary and East Lothian, including through recycling of parts of the plant as it is stripped and put to use in other stations, and also as part of its natural surroundings which is a diverse habitat of meadows, wetlands, woodland and a site of special scientific interest; further notes that there is already consent for a 1,000MW CCGT gas-fired power station on the site; and calls on the Government to provide the clarity sought by investors in the market to enable a decision on the site's future to be taken as soon as possible.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 22

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 22 out of 22

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 18.03.2013
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 19.03.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 21.03.2013
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 18.03.2013
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 18.03.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 19.03.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 18.03.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 20.03.2013
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 19.03.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 19.03.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 19.03.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 19.03.2013
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 19.03.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 18.03.2013
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 18.03.2013
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 19.03.2013
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 20.03.2013
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 19.03.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 19.03.2013
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 20.03.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 20.03.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 18.03.2013