Early day motion 1208

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House condemns the proposed removal of climate change from the national curriculum guidelines for key stages one to three; agrees with former Chief Scientific Adviser Professor Sir David King that the exclusion of such issues represents an abdication of our duty to future generations, as well as major political interference with the geography syllabus; notes the Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change's statements that climate science, risks, impacts and the way ahead have never been clearer, that for a 50 per cent chance of limiting warming to 2ºC, emissions need to peak and begin to fall in developed countries in the next few years, and that failing to take action based on the evidence is a huge gamble with the future of our children, grandchildren, and every other living species; believes it is therefore unacceptable for under 14s and pupils who do not study GCSE geography to be denied a science-based understanding of climate change impacts on human beings in the UK and elsewhere; calls on Ministers to consider the views of the UK Youth Climate Coalition that teaching about climate change is too important to be left to individual teachers' choice; endorses the People and Planet petition to the Secretary of State for Education calling for the interdependence of humans and our environment and sustainable development to remain embedded in the curriculum; and urges Ministers to keep climate change in the national curriculum for key stages one to three.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 27

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 27 out of 27

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 10.04.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 18.03.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 21.03.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 19.03.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 19.03.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 18.03.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 20.03.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 25.03.2013
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 10.04.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 18.03.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 25.03.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 21.03.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 21.03.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 26.03.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 19.03.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 19.03.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 18.03.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 22.03.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 19.03.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 19.03.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 20.03.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 19.03.2013
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 22.04.2013
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 26.03.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 16.04.2013
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 21.03.2013
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 19.03.2013