Early day motion 1193

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes recent Ofcom figures that show that the UK has the highest internet usage in Europe; further notes recent Office of National Statistics figures showing that nearly 90 per cent of people who have used the internet are aged under 65 and that 53 per cent of people who have never used the internet have a disability; further notes that only 74 per cent of existing jobseeker's allowance claimants have a home broadband connection; highlights how many public services rely on using the internet, including universal credit; further highlights how those who are confident in using the internet are able to access better deals on necessities such as energy; expresses concern that those who would benefit most from internet usage appear to be those who have never used it; further notes that while 81 per cent of UK households use the internet once a week, disadvantaged groups are the least likely to be within this 81 per cent; further expresses concern that the Department for Culture, Media and Sport has made no assessment of the free community internet access points in the UK; and urges the Government to initiate a strategy for increasing internet take-up and internet provision amongst vulnerable groups, such as elderly people, those on low incomes and disabled people.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 56

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 56 out of 56

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 19.03.2013
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 19.03.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 14.03.2013
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 10.04.2013
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 19.03.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 21.03.2013
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 20.03.2013
Coffey, Ann Labour Party Stockport 14.03.2013
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 18.03.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 19.03.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 10.04.2013
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 10.04.2013
Crouch, Tracey Conservative Party Chatham and Aylesford 19.03.2013
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 14.03.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 18.03.2013
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 19.03.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 18.03.2013
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 18.03.2013
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 20.03.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 20.03.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 25.03.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 22.03.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 25.03.2013
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 20.03.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 21.03.2013
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 19.03.2013
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 14.03.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 19.03.2013
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 14.03.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 19.03.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 20.03.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 19.03.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 22.03.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 18.03.2013
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 14.03.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 18.03.2013
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 18.04.2013
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 14.03.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 19.03.2013
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 14.03.2013
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 21.03.2013
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 20.03.2013
Roy, Frank Labour Party Motherwell and Wishaw 14.03.2013
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 21.03.2013
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 19.03.2013
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 19.03.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 14.03.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 14.03.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 19.03.2013
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 20.03.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 20.03.2013
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 20.03.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 19.03.2013
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 14.03.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 19.03.2013
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 14.03.2013