Early day motion 1175

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House on the occasion of the 54th anniversary of the Tibetan National Uprising of 10 March 1959, expresses its sadness at the loss of countless Tibetan lives over the last 64 years due to China's military occupation; draws attention to the continued Tibetan resistance to China's repressive policies and human and civil rights abuses through peaceful protests and grass roots cultural movements; strongly condemns the use of force by Chinese police and military personnel to quash those protests; further condemns the Chinese government's restrictions on freedom of expression which include long prison sentences for sharing information about demonstrations; calls on the Chinese government to ease tensions by withdrawing its forces from Tibet and allow foreign journalists, humanitarian agencies and independent observers full and unfettered access to Tibetan areas to ascertain the current situation; further calls on the Government to find new forms of approach with China that will help safeguard Tibetans' rights and freedoms; and further calls on the Government to work multilaterally with other governments to urge China to work with Tibetan representatives to resolve the grievances of the Tibetan people and bring stability and peace to Tibet.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 37

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 37 out of 37

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 13.03.2013
Bone, Peter Conservative Party Wellingborough 13.03.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 13.03.2013
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 21.03.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 21.03.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 14.03.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 10.04.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 14.03.2013
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 18.03.2013
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 18.04.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 13.03.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 18.03.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 14.03.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 22.03.2013
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 12.03.2013
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 18.03.2013
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 18.03.2013
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 25.03.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 18.03.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 13.03.2013
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 19.03.2013
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 19.03.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 19.03.2013
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 21.03.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 25.03.2013
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 20.03.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 14.03.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 22.03.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 13.03.2013
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 14.03.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 13.03.2013
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 21.03.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 13.03.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 13.03.2013
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 13.03.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 19.03.2013
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 19.03.2013