Early day motion 1164

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the Government has put the state-owned Plasma Resources UK (PRUK) out to a merchant bank to arrange its privatisation despite the fact that PRUK was originally purchased to safeguard the British plasma supply after the BSE crisis left the UK unable to harvest safe plasma from its own population, as most developed countries do; further notes that without PRUK the UK will be left buying its plasma supplies on the open market where there are supply chain issues of the sort that saw horses being re-labelled as beef; believes this penny-pinching neglect of safety procedures in the collection of plasma may well lead to an increased risk of infection; and calls on the Government to cancel immediately the instruction to sell PRUK and guarantee that this company will instead be held in perpetuity to protect the health of the people of the UK.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 32

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 32 out of 32

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 11.03.2013
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 17.04.2013
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 19.03.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 13.03.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.03.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 07.03.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 10.04.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 12.03.2013
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 07.03.2013
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 14.03.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 11.03.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 11.03.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 12.03.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 22.03.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 13.03.2013
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 13.03.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 18.03.2013
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 25.03.2013
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 14.03.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 20.03.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 19.03.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 12.03.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.03.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 13.03.2013
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 20.03.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 12.03.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 12.03.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 11.03.2013
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 11.03.2013
Thornton, Mike Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 25.03.2013
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 13.03.2013
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 07.03.2013