Early day motion 1160

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes that Britain's energy industry should be returned to public ownership; considers that the privatised energy companies, now over 50 per cent foreign-owned, have not served the national interest or consumers well, such that the country now faces a potential energy crisis with a looming energy gap; further believes that the major energy companies have exercised a powerful and malign influence over Government energy policy focusing on large-scale energy production and energy sales to maximise profits rather than investment in energy conservation and renewables; notes the high and rising prices of energy, with increasing fuel poverty for millions of consumers; and is convinced that a publicly-owned and publicly accountable national energy corporation incorporating the grid as an integral component would be best placed to plan for and serve Britain's vital long-term energy needs both in national economic and social terms, with cross-subsidies where necessary and appropriate and any financial surpluses returned to the public purse and providing secure and well paid employment for all energy sector workers.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 21

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 21 out of 21

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 13.03.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.03.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 14.03.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 07.03.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 10.04.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 14.03.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 07.03.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 12.03.2013
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 18.03.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 13.03.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 07.03.2013
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 22.04.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 14.03.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.03.2013
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 10.04.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 11.03.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 18.03.2013
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 10.04.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 14.03.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 11.03.2013
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 25.03.2013