Early day motion 1156

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the oral evidence given by Mr Damian McBride to the Public Administration Select Committee on 27 February 2013, where he stated that he had explored changing the specification of ultra low sulphur diesel but was blocked by HM Customs and Excise on the grounds that 'there are some technical and administrative things that are nothing to do with Ministers'; further notes Mr McBride's evidence that manufacturers had to continue blending expensive kerosene (heating fuel) with their diesel compound and that the impact of this was to drive up the price of diesel in the winter months by 3 or 4 pence per litre, due to supply shortages; concludes that a relaxed diesel specification could help to reduce the price significantly at the pumps; and therefore calls on the Government to consider doing this, especially as the poorest families are trapped in petrol poverty, with some spending 27 per cent of their income on car costs.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 17

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 17 out of 17

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 06.03.2013
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 19.03.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 07.03.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 07.03.2013
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 14.03.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 06.03.2013
Halfon, Robert Conservative Party Harlow 06.03.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 11.03.2013
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 13.03.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 12.03.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 07.03.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 13.03.2013
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 21.03.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 07.03.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 12.03.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 11.03.2013
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 07.03.2013