Early day motion 1155

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with great concern the parlous state of the British deep mine coal industry; further notes that the industry is facing imminent extinction which would result in the loss of thousands of direct and indirect highly skilled jobs and bring social and economic devastation to communities across Britain; further notes the importance of the UK coal industry in power generation which this winter has again seen in excess of 50 per cent of the UK's electricity coming from coal-fired power stations; recognises the need for a secure balanced energy mix and the absolute necessity of carbon capture and storage development to ensure the nation benefits from the UK's abundant indigenous coal reserves; and calls for urgent Government intervention to secure the future of the UK deep mine coal industry.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 37

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 37 out of 37

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 11.03.2013
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 07.03.2013
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 21.03.2013
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 12.03.2013
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 20.03.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 06.03.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 07.03.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 07.03.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 10.04.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 06.03.2013
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 07.03.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 07.03.2013
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 12.03.2013
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 20.03.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 11.03.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 22.03.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 11.03.2013
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 18.03.2013
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 06.03.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 07.03.2013
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 12.03.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 06.03.2013
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 13.03.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 12.03.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 06.03.2013
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 11.03.2013
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 06.03.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 12.03.2013
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 06.03.2013
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 21.03.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 07.03.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 12.03.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 12.03.2013
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 06.03.2013
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 07.03.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 18.03.2013
Woodward, Shaun Labour Party St Helens South and Whiston 12.03.2013