Early day motion 1148

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that March 2013 is the 50th anniversary of the Beeching Report which produced an unprecedented culling of Britain's railways; further notes this was just three years after the last steam engine built by British Railways, 92220 Evening Star, rolled out of Swindon works presaging an accelerated scrapping of the steam engine stock; further notes that tens of thousands of trainspotters and railway lovers banded together in the ensuing years to purchase and restore hundreds of miles of abandoned railway lines and save more than 200 hundred steam engines from the scrapyards; further notes that Yorkshire has some of the best heritage railways, including the North Yorkshire Moors Railways, the busiest in the country traversing the beautiful countryside from Pickering to Whitby and the Keighley and Worth Valley Railway, which the late hon. Member for Keighley and then Bradford South, Bob Cryer, played a central role in saving, and also has the National Railway Museum at York in which are preserved some of the most aesthetically pleasing products of railway engineering anywhere in the world; and pays tribute to those tens of thousands of people who have made it possible for hundreds of thousands of men, women and children to continue to enjoy the UK's railway heritage every year.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 18

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 18 out of 18

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 06.03.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 07.03.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 06.03.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 14.03.2013
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 07.03.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 07.03.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 05.03.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 06.03.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 11.03.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 06.03.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 19.03.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.03.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 06.03.2013
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 14.03.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 06.03.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 14.03.2013
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 18.03.2013
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 12.03.2013