Early day motion 1144

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that this year marks the 150th anniversary of the birth of Allen Clarke (alias Teddy Ashton) who was born in Bolton at the height of the Lancashire cotton famine and moved in later life to Blackpool; celebrates his achievements as an author, leading dialect writer, poet and radical thinker coming from a working-class background and also for his love of and campaigning to preserve windmills across the Fylde including Little Marton Mill in Blackpool which now serves as a centre for local heritage information; and pays tribute to his granddaughter Shirley Matthews and all those who have worked both to preserve Little Marton Mill and Clarke's memory, including his biographer Paul Salveson, in this his anniversary year.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 21

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 21 out of 21

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 07.03.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 06.03.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 05.03.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 14.03.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 25.03.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 06.03.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 10.04.2013
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 14.03.2013
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 07.03.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 07.03.2013
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 06.03.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 07.03.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 11.03.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 06.03.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 12.03.2013
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 04.03.2013
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.03.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 05.03.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 12.03.2013
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 14.03.2013
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 07.03.2013