Early day motion 1115

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that a new vaccine against meningitis B has now been licensed for use in the UK; celebrates this medical breakthrough with the potential to save thousands of lives especially among children aged under five; recognises that the vaccine's optimum impact would be achieved by its inclusion in the Routine Child Immunisation Schedule of the NHS; recalls that the last major vaccine against a form of meningitis, the pneumococcal vaccine, took some five years to get into the schedule; applauds Meningitis UK's campaign Meningitis B: Beat It Now highlighting the important opportunity to prevent the devastating impact of the most common form of meningitis in the UK; salutes the valiant and generous campaigning efforts of families and individuals who have suffered its traumatic effects including the death of a child, limb loss or brain damage; encourages the Joint Committee on Vaccination and Immunisation to give timely and positive consideration to the new vaccine's inclusion in the schedule; and looks forward to Ministers being able to act decisively on their advice this year.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 27

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 27 out of 27

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 28.02.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 01.03.2013
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 04.03.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 28.02.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 28.02.2013
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 10.04.2013
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 27.02.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 27.02.2013
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 04.03.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 26.02.2013
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 28.02.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 27.02.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 04.03.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 04.03.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 04.03.2013
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 06.03.2013
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 10.04.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 07.03.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 07.03.2013
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 27.02.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 27.02.2013
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 25.03.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 26.02.2013
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 04.03.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 27.02.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 27.02.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 27.02.2013