Early day motion 1087

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the UK Government's leadership in international development and is proud of Britain's historic record; recognises the importance of the UK in keeping its promise to spend 0.7 per cent of gross national income on overseas aid from 2013; further welcomes the impact that UK aid has had on reducing and tackling the causes of poverty in the world's poorest places, reaching six million people with emergency food assistance since March 2011 and sending 5.3 million children to school; notes that in 2013 the UK will chair the G8 for the first time since Gleneagles in 2005 when important development commitments to Africa were made; further notes that in part thanks to those commitments there has been dramatic progress in sub-Saharan Africa with 423,000 fewer child deaths in 2011 than in 2005 and 21 million more children in school compared with 2005; supports the Prime Minister in putting international development issues high on the G8 agenda in June 2013 and leading global efforts to tackle hunger; and further recognises that effectively and efficiently reaching 0.7 per cent this year will save and change the lives of millions of people who are looking to lift themselves out of poverty in the world's poorest countries.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 58

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 58 out of 58

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 28.02.2013
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 14.02.2013
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 10.04.2013
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 25.02.2013
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 13.02.2013
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 25.03.2013
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 21.03.2013
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 27.02.2013
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 26.03.2013
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 26.02.2013
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 13.02.2013
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 15.04.2013
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 14.02.2013
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 05.03.2013
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 26.02.2013
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 07.03.2013
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 27.02.2013
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 25.02.2013
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 26.03.2013
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 14.02.2013
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 14.02.2013
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 16.04.2013
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 22.03.2013
Goldsmith, Zac Conservative Party Richmond Park 25.02.2013
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 25.02.2013
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 27.02.2013
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 04.03.2013
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 18.03.2013
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 07.03.2013
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 14.03.2013
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 20.03.2013
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 13.03.2013
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 27.02.2013
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 14.02.2013
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 06.03.2013
Newmark, Brooks Conservative Party Braintree 11.03.2013
Reevell, Simon Conservative Party Dewsbury 21.03.2013
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 14.02.2013
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 26.02.2013
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 10.04.2013
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 18.04.2013
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 13.02.2013
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 15.04.2013
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 14.02.2013
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 14.02.2013
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 27.02.2013
Smith, Nick Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 22.03.2013
Soames, Nicholas Conservative Party Mid Sussex 17.04.2013
Streeter, Gary Conservative Party South West Devon 26.02.2013
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 06.03.2013
Thomas, Gareth (Harrow West) Labour Party Harrow West 12.03.2013
Walker, Robin Conservative Party Worcester 15.04.2013
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 25.02.2013
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 21.03.2013
Weatherley, Mike Conservative Party Hove 17.04.2013
Whittaker, Craig Conservative Party Calder Valley 15.04.2013
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 25.02.2013
Wright, Simon Liberal Democrats Norwich South 12.03.2013